GREAT WESTERN FLOORING

3.4
|
46 Reviews
Great Service. Great Products. Great Western.
Shaw believes in its people, products and partnerships. Our flooring retailers are committed to providing the best service they can. They go above and beyond to make sure you’re satisfied with the product, service and ultimately, your home. Purchasing flooring can be daunting, but our retailers are there to help you every step of the way. Shaw Industries is committed to creating a better future – for our customers, our people, our company and our communities. We know our retailers feel the same way.
Great Western Flooring 300 5th St, Oswego, IL 60543-8184 630-236-2201 http://shawfloors.scene7.com/is/image/ShawFloors/shaw-logo-bw
3.4
|
46 Reviews

Reviews


5.0
last month Picking out tiles, backsplash, etc does not come easy for me but Brianna from day 1 was very helpful is explaining options, heard what I was looking for and found the perfect fit for me. Her expertise and guidance through the process was great along with the installation group and everyone I've worked with at Great Western Flooring. I'd highly recommend going there for great options and helpful and professional service.
last month Business Owner Great to hear - thank you for your business! Please feel free to send us some pics of the finished product :)
1.0
4 months ago STAY FAR AWAY. You do not want a company in this much disarray having access to your home or doing work there. There is complete disorganization and lack of communication happening between the warehouse, laborers and everyone else I have spoken with at this mess of a company. I have not gotten a consistent message from anyone. I paid $10,000 for vinyl flooring through the Costco program, thinking anything through Costco is trustworthy and well vetted. BOY WAS I WRONG. First, mess: I am originally told that because it was such a big job (whole house project, demo of existing floor in addition to installation) they were going to drop off and start the project on the same day, yesterday Friday 6/2 and continue work onto Saturday 6/3. I receive email confirmations of a 6/2 start date. So I arranged my entire work schedule to be home to start this project yesterday, put most of our stuff into storage, cleared my house of any personal belongings (as instructed), and bought breakfast and beverages for the crew. I am ready to go. Imagine my surprise on 6/2 when a single laborer in a small SUV arrives and informs me he was instructed by Great Western to drop off the product only, not start the project today as I was scheduled. He doesn't know when they are supposed to come back to actually install it. Umm what?! I immediately call Great Western and I am informed that the laborers were double booked (if this so actually the case, why wasn't I called ahead and informed my work would no longer start at the scheduled time?!?!) and they would start on Monday. I reminded him that he told me Friday into Saturday is what I am SCHEDULED FOR, but for some reason he has to call me back to make sure they can start on Saturday instead. He calls me back and informs me that will start Saturday, today. So the crew arrived today and immediately sees that the things I discussed with the salesperson and was originally quoted for when I sat down with him at my home, most importantly the underlay, and are not included in my order and they cannot start work at all because they don't have the proper materials. I am told explicitly by the laborers that the floor cannot be installed without underlayment, which is obvious in seeing how thin and flimsy the floor itself is. In fact, these men they sent to do the job are not comfortable starting the work at all because it is a way bigger project than they were scheduled for. HOW IS THIS HAPPENING?!?! Great Western measured and walked through my home themselves, I have a quote detailing the work required and I paid 10,000... how exactly was this information not passed along to the men doing the work?!?! So I paid $10,000 and am left with NOTHING. This company is a waste of your time, energy, and money.
4.0
6 months ago Staff at the Naperville location were very friendly and helpful! The installer showed up on time and did a great job installing the runner on our front stairs. Highly recommend! Wool runner installed a few years back, but never too late to leave a positive review! �
6 months ago
6 months ago Thanks for the kind words, Cheryl! We appreciate your business & LOVE to see a happy customer enjoying a beautiful end-result!
1.0
last year This company is a fraud. They gave me a quote to pull the carpet in my business to then install vinyl floors. I wanted them there may be additional carpet below the first layer of carpet. On the day of install they discover there is and slap a thousand dollar extra fee to rent a machine to excavate padding glued to the floors. This company is far from professional. They are in the business of making money by executing multiple jobs at the same time. While my project was under way half the team disappeared one day to go work on another job in Naperville. Do not even think for a minute because they are a subcontractor of Costco that they will be honest in their quote and do a stand up job. They damaged my walls and base boards. The list goes on. Be careful if you even dare work with this company on any project.
10 months ago Business Owner Hi Ajay, Thanks so much for reaching out to us regarding your project. I'm so glad we were able to provide you a full resolution for all of the items you noted and complete the project successfully and to your satisfaction. I know this review was written before completion, but we do hope that your experience has changed. If not, please reach back out to us - we are always happy to help with anything you need. Thank you for your business and best of luck with your new dental practice!
1.0
last year Avoid them at all costs. � ********************* Ordered carpet via flooring program of Costco. Set up for measurement was a breeze. However, my appointment is cancelled the evening before. Reason, the tech has "medical emergency" and no one is able to cover him. The earliest I could reschedule was a week later. (I live outside the town, hence I could not take the appointment 4 days later). Mr Victor shows up next week. Limited product choices if you go through Costco flooring program. �Anyways, no quotes have been received from Victor, and it has been two weeks. I tried following up, he claims to be"very busy" or "I don't have your email address". Seriously? All contact information was exchanged at the time of measurement. �If you are too busy, then don't accept new clients. I am usually very trusting in products and services of Costco, but this will be one big exception. � Mr Victor, people are on deadline. �They aren't going to wait indefinitely for you especially when they are paying for the service.
last year Business Owner Hi Anterpreet, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you have had a sub-standard experience with GWF and the Costco program. As of last week, your sales representative is no longer with our company. We are working to get up to speed on the backlog as quickly as we can. Please reach out to Dana at 630-445-0619 or danac@greatwesternfloori& for any questions or updates that she can assist you with.
2.0
last year Purchased carpeting through Costco. �Carpet ordering via Great Western was the worst experience you can imagine. �We placed order, scheduled delivery, we moved all furniture, Great Western cancels the day before, tells us it takes another week, house in a mess for 7 days, Great Western finally shows up, installers are great. �Nobody knows why my order was messed-up. �Called Costco, they don't care. �Costco says its happens....really? �Costco stinks as well in customer service, which is surprising.
last year Business Owner Thank you for your review, Bill. Your feedback regarding the experience you had is very helpful and appreciated. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with your home remodeling/carpeting project. We do our very best to catch any issues before we arrive for installations. In this case, we caught one before coming to your home and wanted to make sure it was fully resolved before proceeding. We do hope that you are satisfied with the additional rebate benefits that we have provided you as a goodwill & with the final results of your installation.
2.0
last year Carpet ordering via Costco was the worst experience you can imagine. Placed order with GWF,, scheduled delivery, we move all furniture, GWF cancels the day before, tells us it takes another week, house in a mess for 7 days, finally show up, installers great. Nobody at GWF can explain the 7-day delay. Imagine your house in boxes stacked all over for 7-days just for a carpet delivery. Yeah, Costco cared less as well.
last year Thank you for your review, Bill! Your feedback regarding the experience you had is very helpful and appreciated. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with your home remodeling/carpeting project. We do our very best to catch any issues before we arrive for installations. In this case, we caught one before coming to your home and wanted to make sure it was fully resolved before proceeding. We do hope that you are satisfied with the additional rebate benefits that we have provided you as a goodwill as well as the final results of your installation.
last year I appreciate the offer which I guess came from Costco. Jeff from Costco called and left a message. I've tried calling him four times over 8 days or so and left VMs. He never returns my call so I can accept the offer. Do you know this guy at 425.313.6117? I then emailed Chelsey Abbott at Special Kiosk Ordering on 04.14.16. No reply. Can you help? Costco is basically non-responsive to your offer...and they were taking credit for it in Jeff's only VM to to me. What's going on?
5.0
last year This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
last year This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
last year Fantastic products and customer service! Bree was a dream to work with...what an asset to your company! Thank you!
last year Thanks Lisa! We appreciate your business - and we love Bree Ringe, too :)
1.0
last year They lost my business mainly because they do not follow up. Plain and simple. I'm in sales myself, and I know for a fact that follow up with your existing clients is key. And I know that if a client emails you (the sales rep) and says "I have a few questions regarding my estimate can you please call me?" as a sales rep you have business to call them back as soon as possible. Yeah, they don't do that. I even went into their showroom in Naperville to ask a few questions after I could not get a hold of my sales rep via email or phone. I was greeted by a girl named Bree, who was very friendly and seemed apologetic and eager to help despite her limited knowledge of the estimate I had been given back in December. She assured me that my sales rep (who's name was LJ) would call me first thing the next day and address any outstanding questions I had. Well, the next day came and went and there was no call. This disappointed me very much, as a contractor friend of mine had reccommended this company to me and I had high hopes. But in the end I'm afraid that's all it was: hope. And I think that the owner of this company is now the Mayor of Naperville, but who ever the owner of this company is, I hope you're reading this. Your follow up is non-existant, and that really should change, but based on other reviews here on Yelp, this seems to be a recurring theme.
2.0
last year We used Great Western Flooring Co. for our carpet installation. The carpet installation itself went pretty smoothly but there a few things we weren't happy about: 1. We end up with a lot of extra carpet (13 inches by 9 inches) and was told that we can not return it. This means we paid almost $500 extra. There was on-site measurements and consultation so I honestly don't know why there is such inaccurate measurements. 2. We were promised that the floor gap will be significantly reduced, but it was not. I have emphasized several times during the consultation that this is what i cared about a lot since it imposes a tripping hazard, and it was promised to be reduced significantly after the carpet installation, but it was not. We feel lied to and there is no response from the company after several email.
5.0
2 years ago The designers at Great Western Flooring at the Naperville location have always been very well versed in their trade whether it came to designing a floor or a back splash. They offer a generous amount of product to chose from at an extremely fair value. It has always been a pleasure to coordinate with the designers at Great Western when working on a project and the customer service has always been exceptional.
5.0
2 years ago I had a wonderful experience working with Brianna in the Naperville showroom. I had a vision of what I wanted the bathroom to look like, but no idea how to pull floor, shower and trim tiles together. I was initially a walk in on a slow day, so I was very fortunate to get a good start on choosing samples. I made appointments for all future visits and really enjoyed Brianna's sense of humor and experience pointing me in the right direction. She saw the project through right to the grout color and edging for the tile. It was my pleasure working with her and choosing GWT for my bathroom.
1.0
2 years ago Worst company to deal with from start to finish. Called Costco to set an appointment. They said someone from Great Western would call us to set up an appointment. A week later, no appointment. Finally got one set up. Gerade calls the day of the appointment and LEAVES A MESSAGE (doesn't talk to us live) that he needs to reschedule because he was in the City and another appointment came up in the City. I finally got him on the phone and told him we were not canceling and he waskeeping the appointment with us. He showed up at 7:30 that night. Several hours after we were originally scheduled. Gerard gave us a free upgrade on padding for his tardiness. Because we have had such great experience with Costco's other vendors, we proceeded with an order. Our mistake! Ordered two different carpets for different rooms in the house. First carpet install takes place--wrong carpet installed. Called Gerade--didn't believe us. Finally got him to come over to see the carpet--he admitted when he walked in the door that he ordered the wrong carpet. They corrected it. After we installed some new baseboard, the remainder of the carpet was installed. They did not remove all the old tack board from an area where we did not reinstall carpeting. We're installing tile in this area. My husband didn't notice until he stepped on the tack board and put 2 holes in his foot. Also stair runners were installed wrong. They didn't tuck the carpet around the risers and there were gaps on each stair. When my husband called, they basically said it was our fault. They said they were not supposed to remove the old tack board (we paid for them to remove the old carpeting) and our order did not indicate "Hollywood" style so they installed "waterfall" style. We never heard these descriptions in our discussion with Gerade but we definitely discussed having the ends of the carpet bound and the carpet tucked because our dog previously slid down the hardwood stairs and injured herself. Gerade and my husband had words at this point. Gerade said he would call him back, but never did. Called Costco and Great Western's customer service took care of the stairs and tack boards. Gerade disappeared. Each time there was an issue, we ended up calling Costco. Then we would get a call back from Great Western. We spent $10,000 and they treated us like second class citizens. Errors by Great Western every step of the way. If this wasn't through Costco, I suspect it would have been tougher to get things resolved. To add insult to injury, their installers walked away with our carpet remnants. Basically stealing from us. When we raised the issue, Great Western says it was an "efficient" installation and there wasn't much left. By their own number, there was 6.7% of the carpet left. That would be 81.4 sq. ft. Multiply that by $4.57/sf and it's $372. Seems like a lot to me.
last year Thank you for your review. GWF provided a cut and seam diagram for you to review. Everything was clearly explained and the waste factors were well below the industry standards (in this case 6-10% of total). It is never our intention to over-order or mislead our customers. The waste factor is the not the intended amount to have left over, but the amount that is ordered in addition to your actual room sizes. Carpet is installed much like wall paper and you almost never would order the exact amount that your measurements are. Waste factors are applied to all flooring purchases as a standard. Unfortunately, home improvement and construction projects can have complications and there were a few issues that did come up on your job. We have taken the timeline & concerns and reviewed them carefully to ensure that these issues do not become routine. We did receive notice from you about not liking the waterfall stair installation and returned the next day to tear out and install new carpet in Hollywood style (tightly wrapped around the stairnose) on the stairway and to fix other punch list issues you had pointed out. Costco was informed by GWF throughout the process and was in agreement with our resolutions. We do have a customer service team that handles post-installation items as opposed to our sales team, which is who you were trying to get in touch with. We do apologize for the lack of follow up on our front lines, regardless. We do hope that you are satisfied with the end result as we have addressed all installation items that concerned you. Thank you for your feedback!
last year Clarification to your response--your installers left with our leftover carpet, which we paid for and never received. As far as the waterfall or Hollywood stair application-- we were never given the choice between the two. The discussion with Jared was that the stairs would be tucked, which from your description afterward is termed Hollywood. He either didn't write it down and your installers assumed the easier application or he wrote down the wrong one. Why not do the honorable thing and admit you TOTALLY screwed up this order/installation from start to finish? The quality of the carpet is great but I could have gotten the quality carpet anywhere. I assumed because you were a Costco supplier that the installation would be just as great. I was wrong. Thanks for responding. You've reminded me that I need to call Costco about this matter.
1.0
2 years ago Contacted Costco to get info on carpeting. They said someone from Great Western Flooring would contact us in 2 days. �A week went by and contacted Costco again. They apologized and said someone will call in 2 days . Jared called and set an appt for a Saturday. �We changed our plans to make the appt . Jared never called to cancel the appt. set another appt for following weekend and Jared called to state he's going to Chicago to do an estimate and he wouldn't make our appt. after voicing our disgust , he showed up at 7:30 pm and we ordered carpet. We had 3 separate areas to carpet at a cost of 10000.00$ the mancave was installed first and the wrong carpet was installed. Jared took responsibility and took care of the problem. The right carpet was installed. The 2 other areas were installed . Stairs weren't wrapped around the risers, they were just hanging off each stair. We had a 10by 8 area that was left open , as we are installing ceramic tiles. Installers left the carpet tac strips on the exposed concrete. Really? There were exposed spikes sticking up. Very dangerous . I contacted Jared and he said "I never said those carpet tac strips would be removed" Are you serious. That's idiotic.jJared said he would call me back but never did. I reached out to Costco and they got the crew to come out and fix the problems. I've had a lot of experience with contractors in my 55 years on this earth but this by far was the worst experience I've ever had. By the way Jared never called me back.
last year Business Owner GWF provided a cut and seam diagram for you to review. Everything was clearly explained and the waste factors were well below the industry standards (in this case 6-10% of total). It is never our intention to over-order or mislead our customers. Unfortunately, home improvement and construction projects can have complications and there were a few issues that did come up on your job. We have taken the timeline & concerns and reviewed them carefully to ensure that these issues do not become routine. We did receive notice from you about not liking the waterfall stair installation and returned the next day to tear out and install new carpet in Hollywood style (tightly wrapped around the stairnose) on the stairway and to fix other punch list issues you had pointed out. Costco was informed by GWF throughout the process and was in agreement with our resolutions. We do have a customer service team that handles post-installation items as opposed to our sales team, which is who you were in touch with. We do hope that you are satisfied with the end result as we have addressed all installation items that concerned you. Thank you for your feedback!
1.0
2 years ago We went to this location last July 3rd 2015 as we wanted to replace our carpet to either hardwood or laminate. We are shopping around for costs and materials. We were greeted by LJ Studniarz one of the design consultant, she pointed us to the laminate section because that was what we asked for. As we started to look at each samples, we decided laminate is not what we want. So we went to the hardwood section and decided to take home some samples. we were told that we need to return the samples back. We took 5 huge samples that are displayed in the floor which was really, really heavy. No one bothered to open the door for us or even help us carry the samples to our car. We return July 6th 2015 with the samples and hoping someone can come and do estimates. The dates that i gave to LJ was July 17-18 & 24-25 but she said she's off during the weekends so someone else will probably come by to do the estimates. she even mentioned that the earliest they can do was 9am which is not a problem for me. She said she will call the following day to confirm the date, time and the name of the person who will do it. Today is August 12th and I have not receive a call yet. The product seems of good quality but customer service and follow through is terrible. Not going back to this place.
1.0
2 years ago Seems like they don't want our business. Was supposed to have someone out for a consultation / measurement last week, on a work day. He called and said he'd be two hours late, and asked to reschedule to next week. Disappointed but understanding, we agree to meet next week (now this week). And guess what, nobody shows up. What is going on?
1.0
2 years ago DO NOT get laminate wood flooring from Great Western Flooring. �I was very disappointed with Great Western Flooring's blaming me for their poor installation and selling me a product that never should have been installed in my basement. �But of course they made that my fault and Costco conveniently disappeared when it came to customer satisfaction. �Costco let Great Western Flooring off the hook and from their lack of action I can only conclude they don't care. �After all, I'm a single parent w/ a full time job who doesn't have the time to constantly be chasing down these two parties. �And is that really for me to do anyway? �Can't they just deliver what they were supposed to? �Is that too much to ask?
2 years ago Business Owner GWF & Costco assessed this job with and independent, third party inspection and determined that moisture issues were the cause of the flooring damages. GWF offered several times to come back for repairs, but noted that the moisture had to be remediated before any repairs or replacements would be successful. Unfortunately, we did not hear back from the customer on this and have not been given an opportunity to help get the project back to a satisfactory state. We appreciate the feedback on the project and issues thereafter. Improved processes have been put in place to educate our team and our customers on job site conditions and how they will impact an otherwise successful installation.
1.0
2 years ago I had to give them one star because Yelp would not allow me to give them zero stars. � It started off by poor response to my inquiry, took almost 3 weeks to touch base with them. �I decided to go with another reputable vendor from Angies List. � � �You might want to check Angies List before using this outfit
5.0
3 years ago Excellent! "My hardwood floors are beautiful! Great recommenations,service and follow up"
5.0
3 years ago Great Service I have been very pleased with Great Western Flooring. Service is excellent and the products they sell are FANTASTIC....premium quality.
5.0
3 years ago Great Western Flooring is the best! �From the start the consultation and recommendations were spot on. �While construction is never fun, they made it as efficient and clean as possible. The end product is gorgeous and involved tearing out existing hardwood and reconstructing two layers of sub flooring and matching to another type of flooring. �It matches seamlessly and looks brand new.
5.0
3 years ago Kim Holt helped make our house beautiful. We've had our new floors for 3 years and we still get compliments on our hand scraped hardwood and our lush carpeting. I wouldn't recommend anyone or anywhere else for flooring!
5.0
3 years ago Top quality products in a beautiful showroom. LJ and Laura are great. I purchase from this business frequently and will continue to do so. Their warehouse is nearby which makes it great for quick pick ups.
last year Business Owner Thanks, Paul! We are thrilled that you are happy with our team & services. Come back and see us soon.
1.0
3 years ago The installers of Great Western Flooring damaged my 2-week old newly refinished wood floor with a deep 4-foot scratch and also dented a wooden door. GWF accepted the responsibility; but the damage was severe as the repair did not remove the scratch. GWF REFUSED to assist further as this is an inconvenience which is part of the remodeling process. Here is their verbatim: “At the end of the day, we always do our best to make the remodeling process as seamless and enjoyable as we can for our customers. However, in virtually all cases, they experience inconvenience that is sometimes preventable, but often times not. Either way, inconvenience is part of any remodeling job.” So do you want them in your home to do damage and walk away stating it’s just an inconvenience to be expected during remodeling?
5.0
3 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago The sales staff is incredibly informative and knowledgeable on their products. They do a great job of educating the customer!
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
3.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago Great People :)
1.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
4.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
2.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
4.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
4.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
3.0
4 years ago This customer did not leave a comment.
5.0
6 years ago A business that has been around for 20+ years has no reviews? Do people not update their floors?! I recently had water damage in my condo and had to replace my floor. �This was my first major update to my home and I was very nervous about making such a big decision, that could affect many other aspects of my home. I worked with Lauren, and she helped me choose a floor within my budget and desired shades (I purchased Mohawk laminate flooring). Friendly service, delivery included with the purchase, and easy online payment options made this choice a great one. "Great" Western isn't just a clever name. I highly recommend them! They also have three locations.
1.0
6 years ago I absolutely would not encourage anyone to do business with Great Western Flooring! They are happy to make the sale, but when the tile arrives in a different color than the sample used to make the selection, they will not make it right. I have over $2000 of unusable tile that I can not have installed and GWF will not take it �back or exchange it. The sales person and store manager are inexperienced, unprofessional and have limited product knowledge. Please think twice before conducting business at any of their locations!
5.0
7 years ago Great Western = GREAT JOB! Great Western just replaced the carpeting in my entire upstairs and also refinished all of my hardwood in the first floor. I am SO happy with everything that they did. We made great selections in the store with the designers' help and the…

October 1 - November 11, 2017
24 Months Financing**